自然工质

refrigerator

背景

• 世界人口在2014/2015年增加7亿
• 能源损耗增加,主要集中在发展中国家
• 气候变化 (地球平均温度, 海平面上升, 极地减少; 地球平均温度升高(温室效应) /极端大气事件频率增加)
• 世界上15%的能源损耗是由于制冷和空调造成的

icon4

概念

自然工质是自然存在的物质,如碳氢化合物(R290,R600a), CO2, 氨, 水和空气。这些物质能用于制冷系统中的制冷剂(热交换介质),不会破坏臭氧层,对气候几乎没有影响。

然而臭氧层已经被破坏一个多世纪了。尤其伴随着工业发展的加速,大量毒气的产生加强了损耗。造成这种情况的最大原因就是没有及时了解到大气保护层的脆弱以及造成大气层破坏的原因。

world2

自然工质不会造成全球变暖和臭氧层的破坏,因此有助于保护人类和自然环境。
另外,使用碳氢化合物为制冷剂的冰箱需要80克冷媒来运转,但使用HFC的冰箱则需要200克。在制冷业的能耗方面,两者相比有60%降低。

历史

排放CFCs和HCFCs的产品已经极大的造成这种破坏。这是因为这些气体到达臭氧层后破坏了其分子结构。趋势就是 气体高强度的积聚在低温区,比如大气层洞口,这就是为什么南极的臭氧层洞口如此大。通过INPE(国家空间研究所)数据,在2006年该地区的臭氧层损耗是60%。
臭氧层破坏的主要后果就是全球变暖以及对健康的危害,如皮肤癌。联合国环境工程发布的最新研究表明,全世界范围内,臭氧层每破坏1%,就会有50,000皮肤癌新增病例和100,000例由白内障引起的失明。

 

在1970年,科学家们发现地球大气层中CFCs的危险影响。CFCs用于发泡剂,制冷剂和溶剂中。据发现,它破坏臭氧层,所以UV-B辐射能够直接抵达地球表面而引起人类、植物和动物细胞中的遗传性损坏。因此,在1987年,一个国际条约在加拿大蒙特利尔推出,阻止臭氧层进一步破坏,开始逐步淘汰CFCs和其他损害臭氧层物质如HCFCs的使用

 

防止臭氧层破坏的第一个措施是由美国1987年创立的蒙特利尔议定书。由150个成员国签署的国际条约规定,所有签署的国家必承诺替代大部分CFC混合物以减少有害气体的排放和对环境的污染。
第一批修改的替代品是针对HCFC,但是几年之后人们发现,它会增加温室效应而不是破坏臭氧层。所以十年之后联合国了解到需要加大投入来控制加重温室效应的气体排放。因为这个原因,包括巴西在内的175个国家在日本签署了京都议定书。在蒙特利尔议定书的附录中,对于HCFCs,发展中国家应该在2040年停止使用,发达国家2030年停用。
有关抵消臭氧层的破坏,欧洲联盟有一个严格气体排放标准。2015年,目标是剔除使用HFC和GWP高于150的家用冰箱和冷柜。在商用制冷产品中,建议是2020年之前剔除GWP高于2500的HFC压缩机,两年后缩减GWP高达150的冰箱。
在美国,EPA-美国环保局为了较少污染气体排放计划在2016年1月1日前替代使用的HFC的应用设备。这份清单中包含R-290制冷剂。欧洲预计到2020年含氟气体GWP上限为150

Natural Refrigerants

refrigerator

Context

• World population is increasing 7 billion in 2014/2015
• Energy Consumpion is growing, mainly in emerging countries
• Climate Changes (Average temperature of Earth, Consequently Ocean Level is increasing, Polar regions are reducing; Average planet temperature is increasing (greenhouse effect) /Extreme atmospheric events frequency is increasing.
• 15 % of world energy consumption is because of refrigeration and air conditioning

icon4

What`s

Natural refrigerants are naturally occurring substances, such as hydrocarbons (R290, R600a), CO2, ammonia, water and air.
These substances can be used as cooling agents (heat transfer medium) in refrigeration systems, don’t harm the ozone layer and have no or negligible climate impact.

However for more than a century, the ozone layer has been being damaged. The vast production of toxic gases, especially with the acceleration of industrial development, has intensified the damage. The great aggravating factor of the story was the delay in realizing the fragility of this protective layer along with the causes of the deterioration.

world2

Natural refrigerant gases don’t contribute to the global warming and ozone layer destruction, and so helps to preserve our people and the nature.
In addition, a refrigerator with hydrocarbon needs 80 grams of gas to run – but a refrigerator with hydrofluorocarbon consumes 200 grams. This difference represents a 60% reduction in the consumption of refrigerant fluids.

History

Products with the emission of chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) and hydrochlorofluorocarbons (HCFCs) have contributed considerably to this damage. This is because these gases, to reach the ozone layer, destroy ozone molecules that form. The trend is that they accumulate with greater intensity in the cold regions, such as the poles, that’s why the hole in the ozone layer in Antarctica is so large. In 2006 the loss of the ozone layer in this region was 60%, according to INPE (National Institute for Space Research) information.
The main consequences of this destruction are global warming and damage to health, such as skin cancer. The latest research released by the United Nations Environment Program (UNEP) estimates that each 1% loss of the ozone layer, 50,000 new cases of skin cancer arise and 100,000 cases of blindness, caused by cataracts, throughout the world.

In the 1970s, scientists discovered the dangerous impact Chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) have in the Earth’s atmosphere. CFCs were used as foam blowing agents, refrigerants and solvents. It was found that they destroy the ozone layer, so that aggressive UV-B radiation can reach directly the Earth’s surface causing genetic damage in the cells of people, plants and animals.Therefore, in 1987, an international treaty was concluded at Montreal, Canada (the so called Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer), to prevent the ozone layer from further destruction and begin the phase-out of the use of CFCs and other Ozone Depleting Substances (ODS) like Hydrochlorofluorocarbons (HCFCs).

The first step in combating ozone layer deterioration was given by the United Nations (UN) in 1987, with the creation of the Montreal Protocol. The international treaty, joined by 150 countries, established that all signatory nations commit to replacing most CFC compounds for less harmful gases and harmless to the environment.
The first modification alternative was for HCFC, but a few years later it was realized, that while it doesn’t destroy the ozone layer it increases the greenhouse effect. So, ten years later, the UN saw the need to intensify efforts to control the emitted gases, which aggravated the greenhouse effect. For this purpose, the Kyoto Protocol was established in Japan, with the signing of 175 countries, including Brazil. In an addendum to the Montreal Protocol, it was foreseen that the use of HCFCs should be stopped by 2040 in developing countries and by 2030 in developed countries.
Concerned to offset the damage to the ozone layer, the European Union has one of strictest gas emission regulations. For 2015 the goal is to eliminate household refrigerators and freezers using HFC and have GWP higher than 150. – In commercial refrigeration products the recommendation is to eliminate HFC compressors with GWP above 2500 by 2020, and two years later reduce the GWP of these refrigerators for up to 150.
In the United States, the EPA – Environmental Protection Agency – aims to replace HFC applications for less polluting gases by January 1, 2016. This list includes R-290 for the refrigeration line. In Europe, the expectation is that by 2020 to have a 150 GWP ceiling for gases with fluoride.